Doreen by Ilana Manaster

imageRating: 1/5 Stars

Genres: YA Fiction, Contemporary, Retelling.

Summary:

If Doreen Gray were to take a selfie upon her arrival at the elite Chandler
Academy, it would capture a face marked with acne, a head full of frizz, and eyes looking anywhere but at the lens.
What Chandler queen bee Heidi Whelan sees is a desperate hunger for acceptance and the makings of a willing and useful protégé. Heidi’s roommate, Biz Gibbons-Brown, works her Photoshop magic to create a stunning profile pic of Doreen—a glossy, digital makeover that Doreen initially rejects . . . only to wake up the next morning transformed as the girl in the picture.
But Doreen quickly becomes accustomed to her newfound power and lives without considering consequences of her actions. Only the picture knows the truth, and she will do anything to protect her secret.
In this sharp, scandal-filled retelling of Oscar Wilde’s The Picture of Dorian Gray, the men of nineteenth-century London become three girls of twentyfirst-century New England.

My Thoughts:This book was not what I expected hence the bad rating. I’m a sucker for catty mean girls that goes to a elite boarding school but I found myself cringing at everything about this book. I thought this book was supposed to be a modern retelling of The Picture of Dorian Gray but except for the occasion mention of  social media and expensive clothing stores, everything screamed 19th century to me. I hated the way the characters talk because no teenager in this generation actually talk thought.

The only characters that were remotely interesting was Heidi and Biz so I was glad they had a happy ending. The characters are written sloppy though and things are just revealed about characters without any foreshadowing. I was shock that Biz was a lesbian since the author never foreshadowed or even made hints about it. It was random but then again everything about this book was random.

Doreen was an annoying mean girl and she just made everything so boring and repetitive about the book. I honestly found Heidi way better. This book wasn’t the best and I’m glad I’m finished with it.

Leave a Reply

