Seven Ways We Lie by Riley Redgate

 

 

 

imageRating:⭐️⭐️⭐️

Genre: YA Fiction, LGBT, Realistic Fiction

Summary:
Seven students. Seven (deadly) sins. One secret.

Paloma High School is ordinary by anyone’s standards. It’s got the same cliques, the same prejudices, the same suspect cafeteria food. And like every high school, every student has something to hide—from Kat, the thespian who conceals her trust issues onstage, to Valentine, the neurotic genius who’s planted the seed of a school scandal.

When that scandal bubbles over, and rumors of a teacher-student affair surface, everyone starts hunting for someone to blame. For the seven unlikely allies at the heart of it all, the collision of their seven ordinary-seeming lives results in extraordinary change.

My thoughts:

Despite how long it took me to finish up this book, I really enjoyed it. The writing was fresh and despite some characters being a bit annoying, I ended up relating to most of the main characters in the story. My favorite characters had to be Olivia, Lucas and Matt. I love them so much!!

The story is about seven different teenagers all trying to hide a secret about themselves . One of the teens is a closeted pansexual (Lucas) and the other is having a secret love affair with a teacher (Juniper). Each of the teens are struggling with something and that’s what makes them realistic. Each character has a flaw and their flaw effects them throughout the story. The writing in the book is not overwhelming despite each character having their own point of view. One major complain I have is that I wish we got more Valentine. I find him way more interesting than Claire. I just couldn’t like Claire. I mean in the end of the book I understood more on her insecurity and I know insecurity makes you do crazy stuff but I still couldn’t really warm up to her.

Olivia was one of the best parts of the book. I love how unapologetic she is about her sexuality. And I like how she didn’t let people slutshamming her bring her down. Her and Matt relationship was amazing and I was rooting for them since the beginning to the end. Lucas is also my adorable pansexual son. I’m happy in the end of the story, he’s proud to say it and I love his friendship with Valentine.

Overall, I really enjoyed the novel and I can’t wait to read more books from the author.

 

 

Leave a Reply

