The Scorch Trials by James Dashner

Rating: 3/5 ⭐️

Genre: Science Fiction, Dystopia, Young Adult

Summary:

Solving the Maze was supposed to be the end.

Thomas was sure that escape from the Maze would mean freedom for him and the Gladers. But WICKED isn’t done yet. Phase Two has just begun. The Scorch.

There are no rules. There is no help. You either make it or you die.

The Gladers have two weeks to cross through the Scorch—the most burned-out section of the world. And WICKED has made sure to adjust the variables and stack the odds against them.

Friendships will be tested. Loyalties will be broken. All bets are off.

There are others now. Their survival depends on the Gladers’ destruction—and they’re determined to survive.

 

My Thoughts. Warning: Spoilers Ahead ⚠️ 

I honestly really enjoyed this book! I had my doubts since the beginning was kinda boring but the action and drama really picked up by the middle of the book. The stakes are higher and there’s alot of plot twists.

This book takes place directly after The Maze Runner and Thomas and his friends are faced with another difficult task. I really enjoyed how mature Thomas is getting and I love his friendship with Minho and Newt.  I hate the forced romance between Thomas/Teresa and Thomas/Brenda. Like the last thing this book needs is a love triangle. I like Brenda  but she seems sketchy. She suddenly liking Thomas after meeting him one chapter before felt random.

Teresa betraying Thomas was a really good plot twist and it actually made me find Teresa way more interesting as a character. I was shocked that Aris was a traitor too since I liked him.

Another thing that I found annoying about this book was how many times Thomas fell asleep. Everytime a chapter ends or if he would get attacked, he would  sleep and then wake up and then sleep again. That was really annoying and repetitive.

Other than that, this was a really fun and exciting read and I can’t wait to read the next book!

Leave a Reply

